Rest Part II: Soul Food

This post was a journal entry I wrote on Thursday May 29th, 2014, which I only found after I had written last week’s post on Rest: Optimal or Optional. Consider this week’s post Rest Part 2: Soul Food

It’s Thursday May 29th, 2014 and one thing is apparent, I’ve lost my voice. Perhaps it’s because of the bug I am fighting or perhaps it’s a sign from God that I talk too much. Either way, it is a sign that I need rest…and perhaps metaphorically to re-examine what it means to have a voice in life and in the world.

Rest is hard for someone who is constantly doing something. There’s never really a convenient time to rest. I find myself struggling at times because I never want to appear lazy or irresponsible. What is interesting is the word appear.  According to dictionary.com, one definition of the word appear is “to have the appearance of being; seem; look.”  Appear does not necessarily equate to “It is.”As I am writing this, I wonder what else in my life I struggle with because of how it may appear (to others).

These past couple of days have taught me a lot about rest. God uses times of rest to speak directly into our hearts, to nourish, refresh, and rejuvenate our spirits. He uses times of rest to heal us and make us whole again. For true rest, we must (be willing to) surrender-surrender our pre-planned agendas, surrender how it may appear, surrender our thoughts, fears, worries, to-do lists, and instead, embrace His promises. Rest enables us to establish ground-the solid foundation that is required to execute our plans and ideas but more so, His incredible purpose for our lives. The question is, are you and I wiling to be inconvenienced in order to be y(our) best self and live y(our) best life?

“Be still and know that I am God.”-Psalm 46:10

“Be still in the presence of the Lord and wait patiently for Him to act.”-Psalm 37:7

“Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.”-Matthew 11:28

Surrender=let go.

How often do we find ourselves clutching or holding on to something simply because if we let it go, we are left with nothing in our hands? And if we have nothing in our hands, we equate that with being (worth) nothing?

Surrendering to God is different. It is saying, “God, I trust you. I let go of my ways for your ways, my plans for your purpose, my dreams for your destiny, and my present for your presence.”

My present for your presence Jesus. Rest… it’s food for the soul.

My present for your presence

Leave a Reply

