Lucky Laundry?!?

Does this look familiar?

IMG_4124

This is certainly a familiar site in our house. Some days it can feel like just as we finish one load, there is another one to do.

To be honest, laundry sucks until you realize that it is actually a gift in disguise.

Yes, you read correctly.

See folks, the only way that you have laundry to do is if you have clothes and if you have clothes, then you are far more blessed than you realize.

Laundry is very much like the challenges and/or circumstances of life. It can pile up and before we know it, we are overwhelmed.
What looks like a scary mound staring us in the face offers us two choices:
1. ignore it and let it grow bigger
2. deal with it, one piece at a time.

I used to dread doing laundry and folding the loads of clothes after. It was a chore up until I realized this chore was/is actually a privilege.
It was no longer an “I have to” but an “I get to.” I get to do laundry because I have clothes to wash.

Whether I’m staring at the overflowing laundry basket, the piles on the floor or the pile that needs to be folded and put away, instead of thinking, “Shit, I have so much to do/fold/put away,” I now think “thank you God that I have clothes to wear.”

It’s amazing how this one shift in perspective has transformed what once use to be frustrating to an act of love and gratitude.
I don’t fold the laundry all at one time, I do it one piece at a time.

It is a reminder of dealing with things in life. It can be tempting to look at your to-do list all at the same time, but more times than not, it will leave you frustrated and overwhelmed. The best analogy I’ve heard is this: What is the best way to eat an elephant? The answer: one bite at a time.

GRAT(t)ITUDE

Leave a Reply

